The Cut, Clueless & Sexy Beijing

Now that all the holidays are over, I’ve been catching up on all that’s new in the fashion blog-o-sphere.  Here’s a sampling of what I found: 

the cut–  00390m

NY Magazine’s fashion blog the cut had all sorts of interesting fashion news.

First, they delighted in speculation that Vogue editor, Anna Wintour may be the next French Ambassador for the Obama Administration.  Sounds a bit too far-fetched to me, but it doesn’t sound like the fashion world would be too sorry to see her go, according to the cut: 

[T]he fashion world is buzzing over the rumor that Wintour might leave “with a guillotine glee akin to that which preceded the death of Marie Antoinette.”

 

No Sale, No Teenagers

In another bit of elitist news, there are reports that Versace storesversace refuse to put their merchandise on sale to dissuade the likes of us common folk and the more insidious demographic: teen girls. 

“Our regular client was not queuing on January 3-4 in Milan or Rome but was on the slopes in St Moritz or on a boat in the Caribbean,” he said. “We want to offer a real luxury and not to open our doors to the consumption of young girls who can put the designer handbag of their dreams on their arm with less than 300 Euros. We are not interested in that.”

I for one was working with a client ( a lovely one at that) instead of cruising the Caribbean on Jan. 3rd and on the 4th, I was involved with something that Versace would deem blasphemous: grocery shopping!  I’m not sure I will be invited to a Versace party any time soon…

Are You Kidding?!100073162

And the last bit of news from the cut involves the indie- stylista- actress Chloë Sevigny.  In an interview for Esquire magazine, miss Sevigny states:

“I don’t really have any concept of how money works. I don’t know how much things cost. Like a BMW. Or a quart of milk. It’s embarrassing.”

Comments like that make me want to slap her silly.  But since it appears that she is already silly and I am not a violent person,  I will instead offer a standing invitation to come grocery shopping with me on any given Sunday.  Love you Chloë . 

My New Fav: Sexy Beijing

logo-1

So while I was catching up on all the new fashion blogger news, I visited Fashion nation and discovered this fantastic site called Sexy Beijing.  It’s an internet production based in Beijing, China that involves an American woman interviewing the Chinese people on topics involving: love, relationships, sex and women’s issues.

Channeling Carrie Bradshaw of Sex And The City, creator Anna Sophie Loewenberg, a.k.a. Su Fei, travels the city interviewing the Chinese people about the afore mentioned topics and in turn, brings us closer to a culture that many of us here in the West, have never seen. 

In a video presently on the main page of her site, she interviews Chinese construction workers on their love lives and what qualities a good wife embodies.

Upon viewing the video, I was first struck by Anna Sophie’s fantastic Mandarin accent.  It was as though a local Chinese woman had taken over her body.  After living in China for a decade, she seems to have perfected a Mandarin accent.

I was also fascinated by how candid these men were in answering her questions.  The men in her piece were very open to share their opinions.

As a Western woman, my interest was piqued a couple of times when I learned that matchmakers were still commonly used in the country and by a reply from one of the workers who viewed beauty as useless.

When asked what was more important, looks or cooking skills, the man replied, “Cooking skills.  Good looks are useless right?  What good is beauty if I don’t eat well?”  Quite a polar opposite to American men don’tcha think?

I encourage you to check out her site for yourself.  To read an article about her from CNN, click here.

Have a great weekend everyone!

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to SUBSCRIBE via RSS or EMAIL now so you don’t miss a thing!

Be sure to check out the Fashion Sensei Services page for more information on Fashion Consultations in the Metro Detroit area and more.

1 Comment

Filed under blogging, Comedy, dating, Fashion, Fashion Sensei, Fashion Writer, Metro Detroit, personal shopper

One response to “The Cut, Clueless & Sexy Beijing

  1. I love your writing… always so enjoyable and I don’t have to scout for things that might be of interest to me.

    But now don’t be too harsh on Chloe, I don’t look at prices either. I just don’t shop when I can’t, and I don’t go in stores that I guess might be off limits to my pocketbook. Makes life easier!

Leave a Reply

