Polygamy Fashion For All

I was reading Cynthia Nellis’ article Polygamy Chic this morning and thought to myself, “I’ll bite” when I saw a link to the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ Latter-Day Saints clothing website.

Many of us have seen the full length, puffy sleeved uniform dresses the women of this sect wore during coverage of the raid on their ranch back in April.

What I learned in clicking on the link in Cynthia’s story, was that these women have their own website where those so inclined may purchase dresses, jeans, shirts and even underwear for children and teens.  I’m not too sure who will be buying these garments for their kids, but the folks behind this site are aiming to make a tidy profit.

Here are a few examples of what you will find.

This teen dress, yes I said teen, runs $72.53 for a size 8 to $80.45 for a size 18.

teen_vest_dress

The following jeans range from size 2 ($31.81) to size 14 ($39.94)

 boys_trousers

Last but not least, you may purchase a pair of these very modest and likely very warm for the summer underwear for teens.

jr_teens_underwear

Aside from my initial voyeuristic curiosity into the lives and fashion of these people, I was really struck by the following quote on their website:

“And they did impart of their substance, every man according to that
which he had, to the poor, and the needy, and the sick, and the
afflicted; and they did not wear costly apparel,

yet they were neat and comely.” Alma 1:27

My assumption is that they want to share the source of their beliefs for our understanding.  However, what baffles me, is if “…they did not wear costly apparel”, why are they selling a very ugly dress for $80.45?  There’s nothing in the above quote that the clothes had to be ugly or even cover every square inch of their bodies.

I find it really surprising that a dress for over $80 is not considered costly by their standards.

Here’s a “neat and comely” dress that one of your teenagers could wear for the same price.  It has longer sleeves, very modest by a modern teenager’s standards, and it’s $88 right about the FLDS price range.

jcrew

Or better yet, let her wear something like this.

silver

 

  If you enjoyed this post, be sure to SUBSCRIBE via RSS or EMAIL now so you don’t miss a thing!

4 Comments

Filed under Beauty, controversial, Diversity, Fashion, fashion blogger, Fashion Sensei, Metro Detroit, pop culture, Style, Trends

4 responses to “Polygamy Fashion For All

  1. Good Point!!
    Wow, I would have never known how much these outfits would cost! I would have never even guessed that much!
    I’ve been interested in Polygamy since I read this book by Susanna Barlow, What Peace May Be.
    I love the way the story is told from the child’s perspective.

  2. I agree. $80 for a teen dress is not costly? HUH? Get real, folks! And gee..all the teens I know will be lining up to get that dress for the homecoming dances this fall. Yeah, right.

  3. Wow. What a find! There is truly a market for ANYTHING on-line these days!

    ~Calliope

  4. Oh my, that’s just crazy!
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

