I Have A Secret

100_0255

Hi there, so I apologize for the infrequent posts as of late, but I have a secret to share with you. 

I have braces. *gasp* 

It’s unfortunate that I didn’t have the opportunity to correct my teeth and bite long ago, but better late than never.  I’m revealing this secret because I will not be able to post that often this summer.  On July 10th I’m going in for oral surgery where they will be breaking my jaw to correct a severe overbite.  (Oh fun!)

Do I really need this you say?  Well, my other choices were to wait until I would inevitably need dentures or have two of my teeth pulled resulting in the appearance of a larger nose (no way!).  I figured that if I was going to wear braces for two years, I wanted my teeth and bite to be fixed.

One good thing, the forced liquid diet will help me shed the extra ten pounds I have put on since last year. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so glad you can’t see me now because I have these lovely custom wires in my mouth that make me look like Hannibal Lector; with prongs sprouting up from each tooth so there is something to attach the tight rubber bands to keep my jaw shut. (Sorry if that’s too much information) 

Needless, to say, I look far from fashionable.  I’m trying to keep my mouth closed as much as possible, which has been pretty easy, because I currently have laryngitis (the gift of a virus from my 3 1/2 year old).

So, please don’t cancel your subscriptions.  Better yet, if you haven’t already subscribed, do it now so you will know when I have a new post.

I may post here or there, so keep an eye out.

Have a great summer everyone!

Fashion Sensei

13 Comments

Filed under Fashion Sensei, Uncategorized

13 responses to “I Have A Secret

  1. NO WAY! monday i’m off to get fitted for a mouthguard if that doesn’t do the trick then it’s nerdy glasses and braces for me (at 33). as much as i’ve tried to hide from my dork past it somehow finds a way to show its frugly little head time and time again.

    hey maybe you and i should co-author a “fashionable braces” blog.

    i’ve linked you because i can’t miss the adventure.

  2. Hey thanks for linking to me thue. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I really hope the mouthgaurd works for you. I had a $600 bite gaurd (partially paid by insurance) made, but it didn’t really work; my bite was a disaster.

    The orthodontist decided that Thursday (the day he gave me a shark mouth) would be a great day for a photo shoot. They used these instruments to hold my mouth wide open and took all these pictures. Just lovely.

    Then, he wanted to take front and side view pics. So I stood against a white backdrop humliated while he snapped away. I felt more like the poster child for parents: “If you don’t get your kid braces now, this is what will happen!” ๐Ÿ˜€

    I am really looking forward to having this all behind me and teeth that really work.

  3. OH NO!!!! I’m sooooooo sorry to hear about the oral surgery. Hope all goes well and your recovery is quick and as painless as it can be. I’ll be looking forward to your next post…whenever that may be.

    AND any fashion disasters that I commit this summer??? Not my fault, of course…those will be on you. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    Take care!

  4. whatmenthink

    I too will be enduring the pain of Orthodontics in the near future. Did you look into Invisalign?

  5. stacy

    Hi there
    Im sorry to hear that you will have to go through this ordeal in a very short time. Hope it goes ok and you are feeling like yourself again pretty soon after. I hear braces are fashionable in some circles, coloured ones, ones with diamond decorations on them….the works. They appear to be the adult form of childhood pain but made fashionable! I have seen plenty of adults with them in the last few years.

  6. Thanks everyone for your support.

    Stacy, I love your comment: “I hear braces are fashionable in some circles, coloured ones, ones with diamond decorations on themโ€ฆ.the works. They appear to be the adult form of childhood pain but made fashionable!”

    I’m not sure if I would consider my braces fashionable though. I’ll never forget the horror on one of my good friend’s faces when she saw my new look the first time. It was actually pretty funny.

    WMT, I did ask about Invisilign, but my teeth needed some serious help that they could not offer.

    Best of luck with your treatment. That certainly will make an interesting series of posts on your blog. I’m interested in the single women’s reaction. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Nothing Fancy, you’ll have to start your own account on “I Like My Style” so I can keep up with your ensembles. ha-ha

    Thanks again everyone. I’m going through slight withdrawls not posting as often, hence the post today. But I’m sure my children are happy to have my attention rather than hearing “Mommy has some work to do on the computer”.

    Have a great holiday!

  7. Just checkin’ in to say hey!
    Cute Pic!
    C

  8. Good luck with your surgey. I have to do the same thing but I ‘m to chicken so I’ll live with my ugly overbite until something better pops up.

  9. Lori

    T-
    Oh, my! Just read a few of your posts and saw this one about your jaw. I think that you will be very satisfied with the procedure and I hope all goes well for you. Ya know, I had ortho from the time I was 7 until we demanded the braces be taken off for senior pics! Yikes, I could still use a retainer too!! I hope that my kids don’t have the same misfortune! Please keep updates on your blog or email me if you need some chicken soup. (Via the straw of course!) Lori

  10. Hey Lori, so sorry I haven’t gotten back to you. Things have been a bit busy as you can see. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for check’n in with me. I can’t believe you wore braces for so long. No I know the secret behind your beautiful smile. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks for the offer of some chicken soup, I may take you up on that as you are an excellent cook!

    Take Care!

  11. Hoping all went well with your surgery today!

    Lots of love from your friends at Runningwithheels.com!

  12. Laura, thanks for your love and concern. I am now at day 6 in my recovery and I think I officially have all the narcotics out of my system. I’ll write about it when I start to post again, but let’s just say that I will never make a good drug addict.

    I had to get re-admitted to the hospital and it was really horrible the night I was home.

    But everything is coming along. The swelling in my face is coming down. It’s amazing how big one’s face can actually get. I think that is part of the reason the folks in the ER admitted me so quickly.

    I go back to the doc tomorrow so see how everything is coming along.

    I’ll post again soon. Please tell Morgan I said hello and thanks for her note.

    ๐Ÿ˜€ F.S.

  13. I wear a retainer, lol. Most people I knew didn’t notice it until I smile or open my mouth wide…

Leave a Reply

