What’s Your Style?

While surfing several blogs during Mercedes-Benz Fall fashion week, the question of style started nagging at my mind and what style means to people.  Everyone has a different atheistic and opinion when it comes to fashion and how it effects their lives.

Therefore, I am writing this post to garner your opinions concerning style for a future post that I am working on.  Here are my questions to you:

What is your earliest fashion memory?

How would you describe your style?

Where do you shop?

When you are shopping, what is the most important thing you are looking for?

Do you think that fashion is  only for the rich?

If you could wear any designer for life, who would it be?

To see how I answered these questions and an early fashion picture of myself, read on.

My first recollections about fashion begin in kindergarten. A colleague of my teacher said how cute I looked in my pink plaid knickers (not to be confused with the British term for underpants smile_regular) and my teacher said how I was always dressed nice. That was my first realization that what I wore, impacted what others thought of me.

The other was my very favorite outfit. It was a matching pant set of royal blue bottoms and a blue top with a pink ruffle on the shoulders. I LOVED that outfit. I would have worn it every day if my mother would have let me.

While that photo is nowhere to be found, I do have a photo of myself from 1981. It’s interesting to see this snap shot because the trends have come back around, i.e. bright colors and bows in the hair.  Thankfully perms are not popular again (at least not yet).

I would describe my style as trendy.  I try very hard to have some classic pieces in my wardrobe, but I just love finding a new style or an old one re-invented.

My favorite stores are, Anthropologie, Nordstrom, Gap, J.Crew and a slew of other stores that I can’t afford like, Kate Spade, Gucci, Burberry and Neiman Marcus.

The most important things that I look for while shopping are style, price and fit.  All for obvious reasons.  Most often, price wins the heirarchey of needs.

To answer the question of whether fashion is only for the rich could be a post of its own, but I feel that high fashion is meant as a way for the wealthy to differintiate themselves from the middle and lower class.  The lower classes or income level people often must resign themselves to the selection of knock off’s that they can afford. 

If I could wear any designer and only one for the rest of my life it would be Oscar de la Renta.  His designs are always new and fresh, but never go out of style.

Now it’s your turn, let me know what you think and I will gather that information for a future post.

If you like this post, be sure to subscribe to this blog via RSS or EMAIL so you don’t miss a thing!

Photo Credit: the sartorialist

8 Comments

Filed under Beauty, blogging, Fashion, Style, Trends, Uncategorized

8 responses to “What’s Your Style?

  1. You spelt therefore wrong. Great site!

  2. Thanks mazemaker, it appears that I am a poor speller and so is Spellcheck. 🙂

    I’ll be counting on you in future posts to make sure my spelling is on point. 😀

    Thanks for the visit and comment.

  3. Jaki

    What is your earliest fashion memory?

    When I was about 5, I remember looking through my mothers closet and finding a long faux-fur coat and emerald green heels. I would always put them on with her pearls and feel so fashionable and stylish.

    How would you describe your style?

    My style varies with my mood. One day I’ll be inspired by Audrey Hepburn and go classic, another day I’ll be completely girly and then another day I’ll be in love with an outfit Mischa Barton wore and go vintage.

    Where do you shop?

    I love Ebay. You can get so much good buys on there! Being in Australia, I don’t have access to the fantastic shops that are in the US. My favourite place to shop here is Witchery, Country Road, Sportsgirl and Cue.

    When you are shopping, what is the most important thing you are looking for?

    I like to find transeasonal pieces. Like, a cute dress that’s fantastic on its own for summer, but can be layered with tights and a turtleneck for winter.

    Do you think that fashion is only for the rich?

    Definately not. Every single thing you own does not have to be designer. There are so many cheap shops out there that are such good quality, and get their designs and “inspiration” from the designers anyway, that no-one will know the difference unless you tell them.
    My rule is to spend more on key items, like a trench coat or a handbag, and spend less on the fun items.

    If you could wear any designer for life, who would it be?

    Chanel. I have been in awe of Chanel since I can remember. The 2.55 has been on my wishlist since I was 8!

  4. Hi Jacki, thanks for visiting and responding to my questions. I really enjoyed reading your answers and think that you have some very interesting observations.

    I agree with you that you don’t have to be rich to be fashionable or have style. Thanks for making me think it through a little more.

    I am also in agreement with you on purchasing transitional pieces. With all the wild weather it is making more and more sense.

  5. Air-E

    What is your earliest fashion memory?

    Well, we Japanese people wear a school uniform
    when we are a junior high school and high school student.
    I think we will be interested in fashion after graduating high school.
    I don’t have earliest fashion memory, but when I was a college
    student, I like to wear a long boot with mini-skirt.

    How would you describe your style?

    I think most of Japanes girls wear clothes which her boyfriend’s most
    favorites. (under wear,too).
    I, wear a normal,casual, simple style.

    Where do you shop?

    I always buy at a department store near my house.( not expensive)
    I liked Burberry.( now I don’t wear brand clothes)

    When you are shopping, what is the most important thing you are looking for?

    color and price.

    Do you think that fashion is only for the rich?

    I don’t think so.
    In fact, when we cost too much money for buying a brand one,
    we can buy some beautiful shirts and skirts than cheap ( no brand) one.
    but we can enjoy coordinating with cheap clothes.
    It will be fun for us.

    If you could wear any designer for life, who would it be?

    Christian DIOR!!!!

  6. agirlgottaeat

    I just wanted to return the favor of you commenting on my blog by commenting on yours. Seems we both like similar things: Fashion & Blog templates 😉

    1) What is your earliest fashion memory? My older sister was going to dress making school when I was younger. She is 15 yr older than me. So I always remember a dress form and a sewing machine around. And she was always making me clothes.

    2) How would you describe your style? Classic with a Twist or Trendy with a Classic twist 😉

    3) Where do you shop? Barney’s NY, Nordstrom, Bloomingdale’s, Indie designers around NYC and various sample sales. I make a habit of shopping the more expensive stores especially during their sale times because they usually have the trends at the start of the cycle. So if I get it on sale I still have plenty of time to wear it thru the trend cycle. (Yeah yeah I talk like that cause I was in fashion in another life….LOL) And mixing Indie designers with known items usually ensures no one will look exactly like you. Don’t we all want to stand out from the crowd?

    4) When you are shopping, what is the most important thing you are looking for? Something that strikes me. With clothes it is usually classic lines and silhouettes but it may also be a great color. For accessories, it is something different. That maybe color or size or texture. I love updating my wardrobe by adding different accessories to clothes I already own.

    5) Do you think that fashion is only for the rich? OF COURSE NOT!! Yes expensive clothes are better made and last longer but fashion and style are not dependent on the $$ in your wallet.

    6) If you could wear any designer for life, who would it be? WOW that is hard. I would have to say Chanel because it is classic and timeless which I’ll need if I’m going to wear it well into my 90s (which is when I plan to live until 😉 )They can also have some fun accessories that can help change the outfits up.

    And again thanks for continuing to check out my blog.
    I’ll be back.

  7. Hi Air-E thanks for answering my questions. 🙂 I know that there was a time when many Japanese women would buy luxury brand names as you mentioned when you previously bought Burberry. But now, the trend has moved in the other direction recently. Is what I read true?

  8. AGGE, thanks for answering my questions and stopping by. 🙂
    I think we have a lot in common when it comes to aesthetics.

    You are so lucky that you live in NYC. You have so much to choose from and the advantage of all those sample sales. *jealous*

Leave a Reply

