Whose Your Grammy?

Tonight, the Grammys will celebrate it’s 50th year of honoring the best in music.  But before I get to the music, last night, In Style magazine teamed with the Grammys to celebrate “Grammy Salute to Fashion”. 

This 10 min fashion show, showcased collections by Beyonce, Jennifer Lopez, Sean Combs, Jay-Z, Justin Timberlake and Jessica Simpson.

It’s hard to judge the show based on the photos available by the AP, but here are a couple of shots from the Jessica Simpson swimsuit collection.

aleqm5is8o22ajp99atgv_bqv3va8gidqq.jpg

aleqm5ih8wlvw61t4cu19znrc3tckjnz1w.jpg

While looking through the shots provided by In Style.com, it was hard for me to take the whole thing seriously when they featured Miley Cyrus.  Look, I have nothing against Ms. Cyrus, but when I think of high fashion or fashion at all, she is not anyone who would come to mind.  But I digress.

35309370.jpgLets get to the music end of this post as promised.  I will warn you in advance that I am a big Amy Winehouse fan.  Unfortunately, Winehouse has enough scandal and trouble to give Brittney a run for money. Tonight because her visa approval came too late, she will be preforming via satellite.

In the lineup tonight, expect to see performances of some truely eclectic duos.  First on 220px-the_time_promo.jpgmy list is Rihanna who will be backed up by the fabulous 80’s group the Time.  Does anyone remember them?  I rocked my Ice Cream Castles tape back in the day! 

Some other notable performances will be Beyonce/Tina Turner, and the casts of Cirque du Soleil and the film “Across the Universe” will collaborate on a medley of Beatles music.  There will be more, but do you really care about Josh Groban and Andrea Bocelli?  They are incredible talented, but just not my genre.

Other things to look forward to, will Kanye finally win or will he throw a tantrum like he did at the MTV awards? And what fashion disasters can we expect? Plenty I’m sure.

I was going to list several categories and the artists, but it would make this post massively long.  Instead here are just a couple of the categories.  I have put in bold my choices.  For a full list, click here, but I would love to hear what you think.  Who do you want to win? 

RECORD OF THE YEAR

* Irreplaceable
Beyonce

* The Pretender
Foo Fighters

*Umbrella
Rihanna Featuring Jay-Z

* What Goes Around…Comes Around
Justin Timberlake

* Rehab
Amy Winehouse

ALBUM OF THE YEAR

* Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace
Foo Fighters

* These Days
Vince Gill

* River: The Joni Letters
Herbie Hancock

* Graduation
Kanye West

* Back To Black
Amy Winehouse

BEST NEW ARTIST

* Feist  (If you haven’t checked her out yet you should. Click here.)

* Ledisi

* Paramore

* Taylor Swift

* Amy Winehouse

POP Best Female Pop Vocal Performance
(For a solo vocal performance. Singles or Tracks only.)

* Candyman
Christina Aguilera

* 1234
Feist

* Big Girls Don’t Cry
Fergie

* Say It Right
Nelly Furtado

* Rehab
Amy Winehouse


 
Photo and Material Sources: AP, LA Times, Wikipedia, Detroit Free Press, AOL Music

**UPDATE**

Sorry I couldn’t help myself.  Here’s a photo of last night’s performance.

morris_day2.jpg

Source: People.com

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion, music, News, pop culture, Style, Trends

One response to “Whose Your Grammy?

  1. Air-E

    Yay! Fergie is my best grammy:D
    I watched this TV program at my parents house.

Leave a Reply

